Showing Our Appreciation – Our Volunteers

New Board Members 2017
March 27, 2017
Mardi Gras Mambo at Charlie’s Place
March 27, 2017

Click the image to begin the video.

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA – (FEBRUARY 9 , 2017) – On February 9 at the Crowne Plaza Executive Center, Alzheimer’s Services of the Capital Area thanked the many volunteers for “shining their light on those we serve.”  Kathi Gill, President, Board of Directors, welcomed over the honorees and over 150 guests to the 2016 Volunteer Appreciation Award Luncheon, followed by Reverend Frank Johnson, D.Min., who gave the invocation.

Jeri McCullough, Development Associate and Walk and Volunteer Coordinator, began the awards presentation by thanking the hundreds volunteers, who annually make Alzheimer’s Walk/Run to Remember one of Baton Rouge’s most popular and successful fundraising events.  Development Director, Debbie Little, then proceeded to recognize the volunteers, who had accrued five, ten, fifteen and twenty years of service.  The 2016 Charlie Award and two 2016 Rosemary Awards were presented by Dana Territo, Director of Services, and Barbara Auten, Executive Director, respectively.

The program closed with Auten sharing the organization’s Vision For 2017.

The 2016 honorees include:

Five Years of Service Award:  Diane Berry, Jack Burk, Tara Burns, Roxanne Cockerham, Nick Daigle, Dennis Demcheck, Chantel Hollier, Frank Johnson. Pat Ketelsen, Laura Larsen, Adrienne Lewis, Linda Medine, Diane Pitts, John Snow, Mary Vought and Paul West.

Ten Years of Service Award:  Bill Auten, Walk/Run to Remember; Robbie Avery, Charlie’s Place Activity and Respite Center; A. Edward Hardin, Jr., Board of Directors; Charlotte Mathis, Programs; Kim Robertson, Walk/Run to Remember; Nicole Simmons, Walk/Run to Remember; Harriet Walters, Programs.

Fifteen Years of Service Award:  Carolyn Chaney, Walk/Run to Remember

Twenty Years of Service Award:  Charlotte Baronne, Walk/Run to Remember; Rose Colley, Programs; Wanda Spurlock; Programs

The 2016 Charlie Award was given to Betty Bourgeois for outstanding volunteer work at Charlie’s Place Activity and Respite Center in Baton Rouge.

Two Rosemary Awards for 2016 were given to Bashu Baksi, Programs, and A. Edward Hardin, Jr., Board of Directors.